Department of Religious Education

24 Academic staff

162 Students

40 Modules

This department is considered the foundation of Koya University. It was established as a college in 2002 under the name of (College of Sharia and Law) and was then an affiliate of Suleimaniyah University. Later it was split into two colleges: College of Religious Studies and College of Law.

These two colleges with the College of Education became the cornerstone of Koya University. Thus, on 11th October 2003, in the presence of the then Prime Minister Dr. Berham Salih, and with the attendance of students and teachers, the cornerstone of Koya University was laid by His Excellency Mr. Jalal Talabani.

Pursuant to the Ministerial Resolution no. 6/1/370 on 28th January 2004 issued by the then Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Affairs, and in accordance with article 1 of the Council of Ministers' Resolution no. (218) on 29th November 2003, Koya University was established in the academic year (2003-2004). The first graduation/ commencement ceremony of Koya University students was held on 20th July 2006.

In (2006-2007) the name of the department was changed into (Department of Religious Teachings?) and was annexed to the College of Social Sciences. Later in (2008-2009), its name was changed to The Department of Religious Education and was annexed to the College of Education.

At the present time, the department continues leading its scientific and academic process.

Since History is part of any group’s past and identity, our department is teaching all parts of history critically in order for our students to be a critical researcher. Therefore, our vision is for a restudy of history critically and without being biased to any group or ideology.

A correct understanding of the Islamic texts in order to think in a healthy way.

Applying this healthy thinking in all aspects of life.

Developing appropriate plans and Programs which lead to good results and protecting the interests of individuals, family, and country.

In short, our mission is thought, program and production

Academic Staff